Spencer's Day

Total Pageviews

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Kid Icarus: Uprising

The Kid Icarus series is the second smallest video game series, the smallest being Fossil Fighters. But that is not important right now so lets get back to Kid Icarus. The series becomes bigger when Super Smash Bros. Brawl came out. Pit was once again playable after a decade in Brawl. And after that came Uprising. Pit keeps his appearance from Brawl in this game. Also, his black color swap from Brawl is in this game as Dark Pit (but the eyes are blue, where in Brawl, they were red.).

Uprising has unique three stage levels. Here's a list of known levels.
"Chapter 1: The Return of Palutena 
Chapter 2: Magnus and the Dark Lord
Chapter 3: Heads of the Hewdraw
Chapter 4: The Reaper's Line of Sight
Chapter 5: Pandora's Labyrinth of Deceit
Chapter 6: Dark Pit
Chapter 7: The Seafloor Palace
Chapter 8: Star Ship of the Heavens
Chapter 9: Medusa's Final Battle
Chapter 10: The Wish Seed
Chapter 11: Viridi, Goddess of Nature
Chapter 12: Wrath of the Reset Bomb
Chapter 13: The Lunar Sanctum
Chapter 14: Lightning Battle
Chapter 15: Mysterious Invaders
Chapter 16: The Aurum Hive
Chapter 17: The Aurum Brain
Chapter 18: The Ring of Chaos
Chapter 19: Lightning Chariot
Chapter 20: Palutena's Temple
Chapter 21: The Chaos Vortex
Chapter 22: Scorched Feathers
Chapter 23: Lord of the Underworld
Chapter 24': The Three Trials
Chapter 25': The War's End"

Something worth noting is that EVERY level has a boss at the end. However some bosses are fought at the middle or even the beginning of levels. Hewdraw is one of them, for he is fought in the beginning, middle, and end of the level he is encountered.

Another thing worth noting is that Pit often breaks the fourth wall (a term used by gamers. Gamers use it to describe characters that either A: make a reference to the real world, B: pointing out that everybody is a video game character or C: talk to the audience.) a lot by labeling bosses as bosses and in level two he says "Hasn't the whole 'dark lord' thing been totally out already?". This is a complete reference to how most video game villains have "dark lord" in one of their alternate titles.

NOTE: List of levels is from Icaruspedia.

No comments:

Post a Comment